Research Potential SEO Companies

My Morning Spam

April 23rd, 2008

Below is from a predatory email I received this morning - I actually get them often. Not sure what search engines the fellow is talking about - over the last 30 days the top three search engines has generated well over 100,000 page views of navycs.com.

Dear website owner,

I visited your website and noticed that you are not listed in many of the major search engines and directories. If our company can increase your traffic up to 500% by getting you top ranking results on the search engines such as Google would you be interested? We specialize in link building content writing and programming. We have proprietary techniques that work better and are less expensive than any other SEO firm.

Please let me send you a proposal and show you how we can make your website profitable.

____________________________________________________
Sincerely,

Cron

2060 AVENIDA DE LOS ARBOLES, STE D
THOUSAND OAKS,
CA 91362-1361 - USA

Before you select a search engine optimization (SEO) company ensure you do some research! For starters the address in this email is a UPS store and the email came from a gmail account - doesn’t this company have its own web site? Why all the smoke and mirrors?

BTW, Who names their kid “Cron”? Is the name used as an inside joke because “cron job” is a linux module for running tasks automatically at predetermined times like sending a spam email? Is he an alien? Well, he should remain one to you.

An SEO company should at least have their own web site, telephone number, real names of real people and most importantly references you can and do follow up with. Just think about it for a second, you should not have a hard time finding the SEO professional on the internet - if you do find it difficult it should be an indicator! In today’s world a majority, if not all, of the reputable SEOs will have contributed in some way to professional information sharing sites like Sphinn and Gooruze. Most will have a blog dedicated to the business or at the very least participate in forums dedicated to SEO - all this information, screen names they use and sites they frequent should be freely given to you when you ask.

Doing your research will save you time, money and tons of frustration.

[Subscribe to Navy Blog] [Slashdot] [Digg] [Propeller] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Mixx] [Facebook] [Twitter] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon] [Sphinn] [Bloglines] [Yahoo]


4 Comments »

  • If you have any enemies with websites, you may want to refer them to this company. :D

    Comment by earlpearl — April 24, 2008 @ 12:17 pm

  • Laughed when I read yours note on who names their kids what, more on why at the end…

    This ad has gotten “better” and mine today was from a superhero name: Daren Daley (who still lives with Aunt May at 2060 AVENIDA DE LOS ARBOLES, STE D THOUSAND OAKS, CA 91362-1361 - USA) but as you noted, delivered via spammy-looking Gmail account, no address or phone. and no web site. Easily spotted but I am sure someone has fallen for this, or they’d stop the spam scam.

    “They” (no name) mention “they” frequently appear in top-10 Google rankings for “SEO Company” and asked why, wouldn’t I like for my [preschool sons' personal restricted-access baby learning site] to rank as high as “they” do? Um no. Though I bet ranking for “daddy can you make me some really lame colored shapes that move around in Flash” - maybe top ten! ;p

    Thought I would add to the note in hopes others can search and identifty this rip-off before it costs a real person real money (and gives the SEO community yet another black eye).

    Take care…

    - Chiron (thanks Mom & Dad)

    Comment by CHIRON (1 comments.) — August 21, 2008 @ 6:56 pm

  • The spammer is nationalpositions.com

    National Positions USA (Headquarters)
    5012 Chesebro Road
    Suite 200
    Agoura Hills, California, 91301
    USA

    Phone
    866 669 8789

    Fax
    1-805-498-9036

    Comment by Michael Brand — August 30, 2008 @ 1:01 am

  • This is the email I received today, thank you for this post it made my life much simpler today.
    Please ba aware of the legal mumbo-jumbo at the bottom.
    ___________________________________________________________________

    Dear Business Owner,

    75% of POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS searching the Internet will never find your web site unless you’re on the first page of Google, Yahoo, or MSN. If I could get as much as 4 times more INTERNET traffic to your website by promoting you to the top of the search engines would you be interested?

    Our company is consistently on the first page when you search on Google for our primary search term “SEO Company.” We would like to do the same for your Company’s website so you can rank for your main keyword terms as well? All of our techniques use the most ethical “white hat” Search Engine Optimization methods that will not get your website banned or penalized.

    This search engine optimization program includes:
    • No upfront fees
    • A month to month program (no long term contracts)
    • Guaranteed increase in traffic

    Simply reply to this email and I would be delighted to send you a custom proposal
    _________________________________________________________

    Warm Regards,
    Don H.Ritz

    2060 AVENIDA DE LOS ARBOLES, STE D
    THOUSAND OAKS, CA 91362-1361 - USA
    _________________________________________________________

    P.S. This is an advertisement and a promotional mail strictly on the guidelines of CAN-SPAM act of 2007 . We have clearly mentioned the source mail-id of this mail, also clearly mentioned the subject lines and they are in no way misleading in any form. We have found your mail address through our own efforts on the web search and not through any illegal way. If you find this mail unsolicited, please reply with “Remove” in the subject line and we will take care that you do not receive any further promotional mail.

    Comment by Kristina (1 comments.) — September 7, 2008 @ 1:14 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post.
TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Navy Blog containing the musings of a retired Navy Master Chief
© Navy CyberSpace Blog , Designed by Navy SEO WP
Interesting Sites - Site Map